Home News Sports

India beats Pakistan to maintain perfect World Cup record

India beats Pakistan to maintain perfect World Cup record

7 months   ago  /  369

India expanded their perfect World Cup record against Pakistan after Rohit Sharma's century and clean bowling verified their 89-run triumph through the Duckworth-Lewis technique in the competition's most foreseen gathering match on Sunday. 

Put into bat in a stop-begin, rain hit coordinate, India posted a directing 336-5, with Rohit Sharma (140) crushing his second century of the competition. 

Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam kept alive Pakistan's expectations for some time in the pursuit however losing four wickets in a 18-ball range successfully crashed their expectations. 

Set a modified focus of 302 out of 40 overs, Pakistan in the long run completed on 212-6 and drooped to their third destruction in five matches. 

Prior, India went into the challenge with a perfect 6-0 record against their main opponents in a rat coordinate that started under dim skies at Old Trafford. 

Shikhar Dhawan's damage had constrained India to pick KL Rahul as Rohit Sharma's opening accomplice and they promptly become friends in the wake of being approached to bat. 


They approached Mohammad Amir with deference and Hasan Ali with despise, and were quiet when spinners Shadab Khan and Imad Hasim worked couple. 

Wahab Riaz rejected Rahul for 57 to end the 136-run stand however Rohit couldn't be denied another guaranteed ton, which he properly raised in 85 balls. 

The right-hander was solid for one more 'daddy hundred' yet scooped an Ali conveyance from outside off-stump to the short fine leg defender to leave for 140. 

Rohit's 24th ODI century was studded with 14 limits and three easy sixes. 

Amir rejected Hardik Pandya and Mahendra Singh Dhoni with hardly a pause in between yet Kohli made 77 preceding Amir expelled him after a rain interference. 

Kohli turned into the quickest batsman to achieve 11,000 ODI runs, an achievement he accomplished in his 222nd innings. 

The India skipper achieved the milestone in his 222nd innings, crushing countryman Sachin Tendulkar's past record of 276 innings. 

Amir (3-47) was pick of the Pakistani bowlers once more, his flawless 'passing overs' denying India a 350 or more aggregate. 

India did not need to hang tight yearn for a leap forward when Pakistan started their pursuit and it came in momentous way. 

Bhuvneshwar Kumar limped off the ground halfway through his third over in the wake of landing gracelessly and Vijay Shankar was brought to finish the over. 

The pace bowling all-rounder reacted by catching Imam-ul-Haq lbw with his first conveyance to check an essential World Cup debut. 

The left-right mix of Zaman (62) and Azam (48) steadied the innings with a century remain before Kuldeep Yadav expelled both the well-set batsmen to trigger a breakdown. 

The left-armer spun one past Azam's provisional bat to mansion him and, in his next finished, incited a not well planned scope from Zaman. which Yuzvendra Chahal pouched at short fine leg. 

Pandya then tore the heart out of Pakistan's center request, rejecting Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik in progressive conveyances as the wheels fell off Pakistan's pursuit in a three-over stage when they lost four wickets for 12 runs. 

They were 166-6 after 35 overs when rain constrained the players off the ground again and the amended target left them requiring an inconceivable 136 off five overs. — Reuters 



K. Rahul c Babar b Riaz 57 

R. Sharma c Riaz b Hasan 140 

V. Kohli c Sarfaraz b Amir 77 

H. Pandya c Babar b Amir 26 

MS Dhoni c Sarfaraz b Amir 1 

V. Shankar not out 15 

K. Jadhav not out 9 

Additional items (b1, lb1, w9) 11 

All out (five wickets, 50 overs) 336 

Did not bat: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah 

Fall of wickets: 1-136 (Rahul), 2-234 (Sharma), 3-285 (Pandya), 4-298 (Dhoni), 5-314 (Kohli) 

Bowling: Amir 10-1-47-3 (1w), Hasan 9-0-84-1 (1w), Riaz 10-0-71-1 (5w), Imad 10-0-49-0 (2w), Shadab 9-0-61-0, Malik 1-0-11-0, Hafeez 1-0-11-0. 


Imam-ul-Haq lbw b Shankar 7 

Fakhar Zaman c Chahal b Yadav 62 

Babar Azam b Yadav 48 

M. Hafeez c Shankar b Pandya 9 

Sarfaraz Ahmed b Shankar 12 

Shoaib Malik b Pandya 0 

Imad Wasim not out 46 

Shadab Khan not out 20 

Additional items (lb1, nb1, w6) 8 

All out (six wickets, 40 overs) 212 

Did not bat: Hassan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir 

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Imam), 2-117 (Babar), 3-126 (Fakhar), 4-129 (Hafeez), 5-129 (Shoaib), 6-165 (Sarfaraz), 

Bowling: Kumar 2.4-0-8-0 (1w), Bumrah 8-0-52-0, Shankar 5.2-0-22-2 (2w), Pandya 8-0-44-2 (1w), Yadav 9-1-32-2, Chahal 7-0-53-0 (2w).